Back to All Events

Pilates Classes


  • kirribilli Neighbourhood Centre 16-18 Fitzroy St Kirribilli, NSW, 2061 Australia (map)

Pilates is a physical fitness system developed in the early 20th century by Joseph Pilates, who described his system "as the art of controlled movements, which should look and feel like a workout (not a therapy) when properly manifested. If practiced with consistency, pilates improves flexibility, builds strength and develops control and endurance in the whole human body. It puts emphasis on alignment, breathing, developing a strong core, and improving coordination and balance. Pilates' system allows for different exercises to be modified in range of difficulty from beginner to advanced or to any other level". It is an overall body conditioning class designed to lengthen and strengthen the whole body, working the body from the inside out to stabilise the spine and correct imbalances resulting from bad posture. Pilates is suitable for all age groups and fitness levels. Pilates is a non-impact exercise. Runs during school term.


Date: Tuesdays and Thursdays
Time: 7.15am to 8.15am
Tutor: Sonia
Bookings: contact the KNC office by emailing info@kirribilli.org.au or call 9922 4428
Cost: $150 ($120 concession) $20 casual rate if space is available


TKC term dates for 2017 are (all 10 weeks) for Yoga and Pilates

Term 1, Monday 30 January – Sunday 9 April

Term 2, Monday 24 April – Sunday 2 July

Term 3, Monday 17 July – Sunday 24 September

Term 4, Monday 9 October – Sunday 17 December

Pilates dates for 2018

Monday 29 January – Sunday 8 April

Monday 30 April – Sunday 8 July

Monday 23 July – Sunday 30 September

Monday 15 October – Sunday 23 December

Earlier Event: January 26
Harbourside Walkers
Later Event: January 30
Yoga